UMWA COMPAC Announces Endorsements for West Virginia Primary Election


 MARCH 28, 2018

UMWA COMPAC Announces Endorsements for West Virginia Primary Election

[CHARLESTON, W.VA.] The United Mine Workers of America (UMWA) West Virginia State Council of the Coal Miners Political Action Committee (COMPAC) today announced its endorsements for state legislative races in the West Virginia primary election on May 8.

“This is a simple equation for our members in West Virginia,” UMWA International President Cecil E. Roberts said. “They will stand by the candidates who stand by our 35,000 active and retired members and their families.

“They asked: ‘Which candidates will vote to stop the ongoing assault on miners’ health and safety?’” Roberts said. “‘Which candidates will support our retirees’ fight to secure the pensions they have earned? Which candidates will stand up for working families in West Virginia in the face of a sustained campaign by out of state billionaires and their minions in Charleston to roll back decades of progress?’

“Those who best answered those questions received the State Council’s endorsement,” Roberts said. “We wholeheartedly support these candidates.”

The UMWA endorsements are:


S. Senate

Joseph Manchin, III (D)


S. Congress

District 1        David B. McKinley (R)

District 3        Richard Ojeda, II (D)


State Senate

District 1        William Ihlenfeld (D)

District 2        Denny Longwell (D)

District 3        Jim Leach (D)

District 4        Brian Prim (D)

District 5        Mike Woelfel (D)

District 6        Charles E. Sammons (D)

District 7        Ron Stollings (D)

District 9        Wayne Williams (D) (UMWA)

District 10      Stephen Baldwin (D)

District 11      Bill Hamilton (R)

District 12      Mike Romano (D)

District 13      Bob Beach (D)

District 14      Stephanie Zucker (D)

District 16      John Unger (D)


House of Delegates

District 1        Diana Magnone (D)

District 1        Randy Swartzmiller (D)

District 2        Phillip W. Diserio (D) (IBEW)

District 3        Shawn Fluharty (D)

District 3        Erikka Storch (R)

District 4        Joe Canestraro (D)

District 4        Lisa Zukoff (D)

District 5        Dave Pethtel (D)

District 6        T. Chris Combs (D)

District 7        Lissa Lucas (D)

District 8        David Bland (D)

District 10      Andy Daniel (D)

District 10      J. Morgan Leach (D)

District 10      Harry Deitzler (D)

District 11      James Alan Pickens (D)

District 12      Missy Morris (D)

District 13      Scott Brewer (D)

District 14      Brianne Solomon (D)

District 15      Casey Wade Horton (D)

District 16      Sean Hornbuckle (D)

District 16      Vera Miller (R)

District 17      Chad Lovejoy (D)

District 17      Matthew Rohrbach (R)

District 18      Paul David Ross (D)

District 19      Ken Hicks (D)

District 19      Robert Thompson (D)

District 21      Phyllis Riffe White (D)

District 22      Gary McCallister (D)

District 23      Rodney A. Miller (D)

District 24      Ralph Rodighiero (D)

District 24      Tim Tomblin (D)

District 25      Andy Vance (D)

District 26      Ed Evans (D)

District 27      Phoebe Jeffries Meadows (D)

District 27      Carol B. Bailey (D)

District 28      Andrew Evans (D)

District 28      Sandy Shaw (D)

District 29      Ricky Moye (D)

District 30      Mick Bates (D)

District 31      Richard “Rick” Snuffer, II (D)

District 32      Margaret Anne Staggers (D)

District 32      Selina Vickers (D)

District 32      Luke Lively (D)

District 33      David A. Walker (D)

District 34      Brent Boggs (D)

District 35      Andrew D. Byrd (D)

District 35      Renate Pore (D)

District 35      James P. Robinette (D)

District 35      Doug Skaff, Jr. (D)

District 36      Larry L. Rowe (D)

District 36      Andrew Robinson (D)

District 36      Amanda Estep-Burton (D)

District 37      Mike Pushkin (D)

District 38      Tom Tull (D)

District 39      David “Woody” Holmes (D)

District 40      Melissa Riggs Huffman (D) (AFT)

District 40      Ronald Clinton Shamblin (R)

District 41      Paul O’Dell, Jr. (D)

District 42      Jeff Campbell (D)

District 42      Cindy Lavender-Bowe (D)

District 43      Bill Hartman (D)

District 43      Phil Isner (D)

District 44      Dana L. Lynch (D)

District 46      Robert L. “Bob” Stultz (D)

District 47      Ed Larry (D)

District 48      Tim Miley (D)

District 48      Richard J. Iaquinta (D)

District 48      Robert “Rob” Garcia (D)

District 48      Derek McIntyre (D)

District 49      George Allen Abel (D)

District 50      Mike Caputo (D) (UMWA)

District 50      Linda Longstreth (D)

District 50      Michael Angelucci (D)

District 51      Barbara Evans Fleischauer (D)

District 51      Evan Hansen (D)

District 51      John Williams (D)

District 51      Danielle Walker (D)

District 51      Rodney A. Pyles (D)

District 53      Cory Chase (D)

District 55      Isaac Sponaugle (D)

District 56      Timothy Ryan (D)

District 58      Bibi Hahn (D)

District 59      John Isner (D)

District 61      Jason Barrett (D)

District 63      Sam Brown (D)

District 64      Barby Frankenberry (D)

District 65      Sammi Brown (D)

District 66      David M. Dinges (D)

District 67      John Doyle (D)